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MIGRANT LABOR HOUSING FACILITIES 

 

Background A migrant labor housing facility is defined by state law as a facility that is established, 
operated, or used for more than three days as living quarters for two or more seasonal, 
temporary, or migrant families or three or more seasonal, temporary, or migrant workers, 
regardless of whether rent is paid or reserved in connection with the use of the facility. 

History The Texas Migrant Labor Facilities Act became effective September 1, 2005.  Through this 
act of the Texas Legislature the responsibility for the licensing and inspection of migrant 
labor housing facilities was transferred from the Department of State Health Services to the 
Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs (TDHCA). 

Purpose Ensure that housing used by temporary laborers is safe and decent and meets the minimum 
state and federal standards for temporary housing.  

TDHCA’s 
Role 

Inspect and license temporary housing provided by employers who wish to establish, 
maintain, or operate a migrant labor housing facility regardless of whether the facility has 
been licensed, permitted or inspected by any other governmental entity. 

Rules and 
Regulations 

 Texas Migrant Labor Housing Facility Act of 2005, codified in Tex. Gov. Code 
§§2306.921-2306.933 

 Texas Administrative Code, Title 10, Part 1, Chapter 90, Rule §90.2  

Standards Licensed migrant labor housing facilities must meet standards of construction, sanitation, 
equipment, and operation. In Texas, these standards address: 

 Facility construction; 
 Sanitary conditions; 
 Water supply; 
 Toilets; 
 Sewage disposal; 
 Refuse storage, collection, disposal; 
 Light and air; 

 Safety requirements; 
 Fire protection; 
 Equipment; 
 Facility maintenance and operation; and 
 Any other matter appropriate or necessary for 

the protection of the health and safety of the 
occupants 

Licensing  By law, a facility may not be offered as any type of living quarters to migrant, seasonal 
workers until it has been licensed by TDHCA. 
- A license from TDHCA is required to establish, maintain, or operate a migrant labor 

housing facility. 
- Texas regulation requires an application be submitted to TDHCA between 60 and 45 

days prior to the intended operation of the facility. 
 The license is to be posted in the facility at all times during the maintenance or operation 

of the migrant labor housing facility. 

Applications Applications for a new license, or renew or change a license are available on TDHCA's 
website under Support and Services, Migrant Labor Housing. 

Fees $250 annual fee, per facility 

Penalties Migrant labor housing facility operators who violate licensing standards may be subject to 
civil penalties of up to $200 for each day that a violation occurs. 

Questions  Inspections and Licensing: Contact the Manufactured Housing Division at 877-313-3023 
or email migrantlaborhousing@tdhca.state.tx.us. 

 Housing Violations or Unlicensed Facilities: Contact TDHCA at 833-522-7028.  
 


