Texas Department of Housing & Community Affairs - Building Homes and Strengthening Communities
Help for Texans
  • If you or someone you know is in need of assistance, please visit our Help for Texans page.
Request Information or a Presentation
Join Our Email List
  • Join our new Texas HOMEbuyer Assistance Program email list to receive up-to-date information about funding availability and recent changes to the program by sending an email with your contact information to TexasHOMEbuyer@tdhca.state.tx.us

Texas HOMEbuyer Assistance Program

Overview

The Texas HOMEbuyer Assistance Program provides up to $20,000 in down payment assistance and closing costs for qualified homebuyers purchasing a single family home, condo, or new manufactured home in the counties of Bastrop, Blanco, Burnet, Caldwell, Hays, Travis (excluding the Austin city limits), and Williamson. Assistance is provided in the form of a 0% interest deferred, forgivable loan. Households do not have to be first time homebuyers to qualify.

Household Eligibility Requirements

Households must be prequalified for a mortgage loan and currently working with a licensed Residential Mortgage Loan Originator (http://www.sml.texas.gov). Households must occupy the home as their principal place of residences for the entire TDHCA HOME loan term to receive forgiveness of the loan amount. Total household income cannot exceed 80% of Area Median Family Income for the county in which the home is located:

 
County 1 Person 2 Persons 3 Persons 4 Persons 5 Persons 6 Persons
Bastrop $41,000 $46,850 $52,700 $58,550 $63,250 $67,950
Blanco $37,550 $42,900 $48,250 $53,600 $57,900 $62,200
Burnet $34,500 $39,500 $44,450 $49,350 $53,300 $57,250
Caldwell $41,000 $46,850 $52,700 $58,550 $63,250 $67,950
Hays $41,000 $46,850 $52,700 $58,550 $63,250 $67,950
Travis $41,000 $46,850 $52,700 $58,550 $63,250 $67,950
Williamson $41,000 $46,850 $52,700 $58,550 $63,250 $67,950

NOTE: TDHCA will verify income eligibility. Income and debt may be calculated differently than a Mortgage Loan Officer.

Property Requirements

The property must be a single family home, condo, or new manufactured housing unit that will pass a Housing Quality Standards (HQS) inspection and environmental clearance conducted by TDHCA. The property value must not exceed the Section 203(b) mortgage limits (pre-Economic Stimulus Act) established by HUD.

Bastrop Blanco Burnet Caldwell Hays Travis Williamson
$218,595 $200,160 $200,160 $218,595 $218,595 $218,595 $218,595

Additional Requirements

Additional limits and requirements as well as the application process are described in the update to the lender tutorial presentation slides (PPT). To request more information or a presentation in your offices, please email us at TexasHOMEbuyer@tdhca.state.tx.us.

Program Resources