

Thank you for applying to license your migrant housing facility with the Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs (TDHCA). This cover letter serves to provide you with information about the application process.

#### Which facilities must be licensed?

Any facility that houses two or more seasonal, temporary, or migrant families or three or more seasonal, temporary, or migrant workers for more than three days must be licensed.

#### May I include multiple sites on one license?

A license may include multiple buildings on scattered or noncontiguous sites, as long as the scattered sites are in a reasonable distance from each other, and the work location and the buildings are operated as one facility by the provider.

# May I use my Texas Workforce Commission (TWC) or Department of Labor (DOL) inspection for TDHCA licensing purposes?

You may, so long as the TWC/DOL inspection is no more than 90 days old and has no material deficiencies or exceptions. TWC/DOL must also have inspected all of the buildings that you intend to license with TDHCA – for example, if TWC/DOL inspected two buildings but you intend to license three buildings, then TDHCA will be required to conduct an inspection on the remaining building.

#### What do I need to submit with my application?

If TWC	/DOL has inspected the facilities within the last 90 days, then please submit:				
	The attached application, completed in its entirety				
	The attached form "Exhibit 1"				
	A copy of all TWC/DOL inspection forms				
	A check for \$75				
If TWC/DOL has not inspected these facilities, or the inspection is more than 90 days old, or there are additional facilities which were not inspected, then please submit:					
	The attached application, completed in its entirety A check for \$250				

If you have any questions, please contact Peter Jones, Compliance Program Administrator, at 512-475-4515 or by email at <a href="mailto:peter.jones@tdhca.state.tx.us">peter.jones@tdhca.state.tx.us</a>

#### Fees:

\$250... Inspection & License

\$75.00 License Only\*

### Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs

P. O. BOX 13941 Austin, Texas 78711-3941

Phone: 800-643-8204 or Fax: 512-475-3359

Pursuant to the Texas Migrant Labor Housing Facility Act, Tex. Gov. Code, §§2306.921-2306.933 Internet Address: http://www.tdhca.state.tx.us/migrant-housing/index.htm



#### RENEWAL APPLICATION TO OPERATE A MIGRANT LABOR HOUSING FACILITY

(Please type or print clearly.)

Facility Location  For multiple addresses please complete and attach a converte copy of this page to the application for each addresses								
For multiple addresses please complete and attach a separate copy of this page to the application for each address::  (For motels, lodges, apartments or other public facilities list the contact name and phone number of the facility owner or manager)								
Contact Name:				Facility Phone #:				
Physical Location or Address of Facility:								
City: State: ZIP:		:	C	ounty:				
Has this facility passed an H-2A or otl	ner inspection within	inspection within the past 90 days?		Yes (attach copy*)				
	Facility	Description						
Number of buildings Used for migrant Housing:	=		Intended Occupancy: Total Building Sq. Ft. (Please separate by building):					
Water Supply	Sew	age Disposal			Cooking Facility			
Municipal/City	Municipa Municipa	al/City		Gener	al Mess			
Private/Well	Septic	Septic		☐ Individual in unit				
Bathing		Laundry		На	nd washing			
Communal Facilities	Commur	Communal Facility		Communal Facility				
Individual in unit	Individua	Individual in unit		Individual in unit				
Housing Provider Contact Information  (Address where license will be mailed, e.g., address of corporation, company, or home.)								
Business or Trade (DBA) Name:								
Contact Person:								
Mailing Address:								
City:	S	state:		ZIP:				
Contact's Phone #:	С	Contac	ct's Fax:					
Contact's Email:								
DEPARTMENT USE ONLY								
License Number Issued: MLF00000		Date Inspected:			Receipt #:			
Effective/Expiration Date:								
Comments:								

Reason For Applying (check all that apply)								
License Renewal	Date Building Will Be Occupied:	TDHCA License #:						
Change of Location	Previous Location:	MLF00000						
Change of Name	Previous Name:		License Exp Date:					
Change of	Previous Owner:		Last inspection					
Ownership			Date:					
	Certification S	tatement						
Pursuant to the Texas Migrant Labor Housing Facility Act, Tex. Gov. Code, §§2306.921-2306.933 (the "Act"), I hereby have fully completed the above application for license to establish and maintain a Migrant Labor Housing Facility. By signing this document I certify that I am authorized to sign this document on behalf of the applicant and that all information in this complete application is true and correct.								
Signature:		Title:						
Name (printed):		Date:						
<ul> <li>A license, unless revoked, shall expire one year from the date of issuance, and it shall be non-transferable.</li> <li>Please note that it is the responsibility of the license holder to renew their license before the expiration date, whether or not they have received a renewal notice from the Department. If you did not receive your renewal notice, you may find a renewal forms at https://www.tdhca.state.tx.us/migrant-housing/index.htm</li> <li>Application fee is \$250.00 without an inspection less than 90 days old conducted by the Texas Workforce Commission (TWC) or the United States Department of Labor (DOL).</li> <li>If applying for a license only, applicants must complete and attach Exhibit 1, Additional Certification Statement, along with a copy of the current TWC inspection and the license fee of \$75.00.</li> <li>For assistance in completing this application, please email us at migrantlaborhousing@tdhca.state.tx.us or call 800-643-8204.</li> <li>Make check payable to the: Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs</li> <li>Mail application and fees to the: TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF HOUSING AND COMMUNITY AFFAIRS         <ul> <li>P. O. BOX 13941</li> <li>AUSTIN, TX 78711-3941</li> </ul> </li> </ul>								
Please provide any additional information about the location(s) or required timing here or on attachments:								

\*\*\*\*\*Incomplete Applications Or Improper Fees Will Delay License Issuance \*\*\*\*\*

#### **EXHIBIT 1**

## Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs CERTIFICATION OF APPLICATION TO OPERATE A MIGRANT LABOR HOUSING FACILITY

In addition to having the appropriate inspection using the housing standards defined in 29 CFR §500.132, providers of facilities not inspected directly by TDHCA must certify compliance with the following additional state standards:

- 1. Facilities shall be constructed in a manner to insure the protection of Occupants against the elements. Facilities shall be maintained in good repair and in a sanitary condition. All doors to the exterior shall have working locks and all windows shall have working interior latches. Each unit shall have a working smoke detector. Fire extinguishing equipment shall be provided in an accessible place located within 100 feet from each Facility. Such equipment shall provide protection equal to a 2 1/2 gallon stored pressure of five gallon pump type water extinguisher.
- Combined cooking, eating, and sleeping arrangements must have at least 100 square feet per person (aged 18 months and older); the portion of the Facility for sleeping areas must include at least 50 square feet per person.
- 3. Facilities for Families with children must have a separate room or partitioned area for adult Family members.
- 4. In dormitory-type facilities, separate sleeping accommodations shall be provided for each sex. In Family housing units, separate sleeping accommodations shall be provided for each Family unit.
- 5. Facilities previously used to mix, load, or store pesticides and toxic chemicals may not be used for cooking, dishwashing, eating, sleeping, housing purposes, or other similar purposes.
- 6. In a central mess or multifamily feeding operation, the kitchen and mess hall shall be constructed in accordance with any applicable local or state rules on food services sanitation.
- 7. Beds, bunks, or cots shall have a clear space of at least 12 inches from the floor. Triple-deck bunks shall be prohibited. Single beds shall be spaced not closer than 36 inches laterally or end to end. Bunk beds shall be spaced not less than 48 inches laterally or 36 inches end to end. There shall be a clear ceiling height above a mattress of not less than 36 inches. The clear space above the lower mattress of the bunk beds and the bottom of the upper bunk shall not be less than 27 inches.
- 8. Communal bathrooms shall have a minimum of one showerhead per 10 persons and one lavatory sink per six persons. Showerheads shall be spaced at least three feet apart to insure a minimum of nine square feet of showering space per showerhead.
- 9. In all communal bathrooms separate shower stalls shall be provided.
- 10. Mechanical clothes washers shall be provided in a ratio of one per 50 persons. In addition to mechanical clothes washers, one laundry tray per 100 persons shall be provided. In lieu of mechanical clothes washers, one laundry tray or tub per 25 persons may be provided.
- 11. All Facility sites shall be provided with electricity. The electrical systems shall conform to all applicable codes and shall be sufficient to provide the electricity with sufficient amperage to operate all required and available features, including but not limited to lighting, stoves, hot water heaters, heating systems, portable heaters, refrigeration, and such other devices as may be connected to wall type convenience outlets.

By signing below, you are certifying that you are authorized to sign this document and that the facility for which you are applying to license meets the above listed standards.

Applicant Signature:	Title	e:
Printed Name:	Date	e: