

MIGRANT LABOR HOUSING FACILITIES	
Background	A migrant labor housing facility is defined by state law as a facility that is established, operated, or used for more than three days as living quarters for two or more seasonal, temporary, or migrant families or three or more seasonal, temporary, or migrant workers, regardless of whether rent is paid or reserved in connection with the use of the facility.
History	The Texas Migrant Labor Facilities Act became effective September 1, 2005. Through this act of the Texas Legislature the responsibility for the licensing and inspection of migrant labor housing facilities was transferred from the Department of State Health Services to the Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs (TDHCA).
Purpose	Ensure that housing used by temporary laborers is safe and decent and meets the minimum state and federal standards for temporary housing.
TDHCA's Role	Inspect and license temporary housing provided by employers who wish to establish, maintain, or operate a migrant labor housing facility regardless of whether the facility has been licensed, permitted or inspected by any other governmental entity.
Rules and Regulations	 Texas Migrant Labor Housing Facility Act of 2005, codified in Tex. Gov. Code §§2306.921-2306.933 Texas Administrative Code, Title 10, Part 1, Chapter 90, Rule §90.2
Standards	Licensed migrant labor housing facilities must meet standards of construction, sanitation, equipment, and operation. In Texas, these standards address:
	 Facility construction; Sanitary conditions; Water supply; Toilets; Sewage disposal; Refuse storage, collection, disposal; Light and air; Safety requirements; Fire protection; Equipment; Facility maintenance and operation; and Any other matter appropriate or necessary for the protection of the health and safety of the occupants
Licensing	 By law, a facility may not be offered as any type of living quarters to migrant, seasonal workers until it has been licensed by TDHCA. A license from TDHCA is required to establish, maintain, or operate a migrant labor housing facility. Texas regulation requires an application be submitted to TDHCA between 60 and 45 days prior to the intended operation of the facility. The license is to be posted in the facility at all times during the maintenance or operation of the migrant labor housing facility.
Applications	Applications for a new license, or renew or change a license are available on TDHCA's website under Support and Services, Migrant Labor Housing.
Fees	\$250 annual fee, per facility
Penalties	Migrant labor housing facility operators who violate licensing standards may be subject to civil penalties of up to \$200 for each day that a violation occurs.
Questions	 Inspections and Licensing: Contact the Manufactured Housing Division at 877-313-3023 or email migrantlaborhousing@tdhca.state.tx.us. Housing Violations or Unlicensed Facilities: Contact TDHCA at 833-522-7028.



