Texas Department of Housing & Community Affairs - Building Homes and Strengthening Communities

Disaster Assistance information from FEMA:

A complete listing of Texas counties eligible for federal Public Assistance, Individual Assistance and Hazard Mitigation Grant Program is now available at:


Additional Disaster information is available at:


Presidential Disaster Declaration as of 9/8/17 for counties affected by Hurricane Harvey:

Aransas, Austin, Bastrop, Bee, Brazoria, Calhoun, Chambers, Colorado, DeWitt, Fayette, Fort Bend, Galveston, Goliad, Gonzales, Hardin, Harris, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Karnes, Kleberg, Lavaca, Lee, Liberty, Matagorda, Montgomery, Newton, Nueces, Orange, Polk, Refugio, Sabine, San Jacinto, San Patricio, Tyler, Victoria, Walker, Waller, Wharton.

Notice of Property Damage from Hurricane Harvey (DOC)

Notice of Property Restoration after a Declared Disaster (DOC)

Recapture Relief for Casualty Losses as a Result of Presidentially Declared Disaster

Revenue Procedures 2014-49 (PDF)

Additional Information and Resources

INDIVIDUAL ASSISTANCE (IA) - Assistance to individuals and households in federally declared disaster areas

IA Fact Sheet: https://www.fema.gov/media-library-data/1502462481273-e60375f24bc71e1d3efd6fa18249c54e/FACTSHEETIndividualAssistance.pdf

PUBLIC ASSISTANCE (PA) - Assistance to State, Local, Tribal and Territorial governments and certain private-non-profit organizations for emergency work and the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities. Eligible work is classified into the following categories:

  • Emergency Work
    • Category A: Debris removal
    • Category B: Emergency protective measures
  • Permanent Work
    • Category C: Roads and bridges
    • Category D: Water control facilities
    • Category E: Public buildings and contents
    • Category F: Public utilities
    • Category G: Parks, recreational, and other facilities

PA Fact Sheet: https://www.fema.gov/media-library-data/1497559657642-a01f6ee60e25394fa9a25cae2fd289d5/PublicAssistanceFactSheetJune2017.pdf

HAZARD MITIGATION GRANT PROGRAM Supports mitigation measures that reduce the risk of loss of life and property from future disasters.