Texas Department of Housing & Community Affairs - Building Homes and Strengthening Communities

TDHCA Governing Board

Overview of the Governing Board

The policy-making body of the agency is a seven-member board, appointed by the governor with the advice and consent of the Texas Senate. The members hold office for staggered terms, with the terms of two or three members expiring on January 31 of each odd-numbered year. Members must be registered voters and may not hold another public office. These are non-salaried positions and the Governor designates the chair.

TDHCA board meeting information is available on TDHCA’s Board Meeting Center page at https://www.tdhca.state.tx.us/board/meetings.htm

Members of the TDHCA Board

Vacant, Chair Vacant
Ms. Leslie Bingham, Vice Chair
Term Expires: January 31, 2019
Ms. Sharon Thomason
Term Expires: January 31, 2021
Mr. Paul A. Braden
Term Expires: January 31, 2023
Mr. Leo Vasquez
Term Expires: January 31, 2023

Biographical Information

Photo of Ms. EscarenoLeslie Bingham of Brownsville is CEO of Valley Baptist Medical Center-Brownsville. Ms. Bingham is a board member of Brownsville Montessori Academy, and serves as co-chairperson of the South Texas Healthcare Sector Partnership. She is a past board member and treasurer of Easter Seals of the Rio Grande Valley, and has served as board member of the Children’s Museum of Brownsville. Additionally, Bingham was a member of the Texas Hospital Association’s Council on Policy Development. She received bachelor’s and master’s degrees from the University of Mississippi and a master of business administration degree from the University of Texas-Pan American.


Photo of Mr. BradenPaul A. Braden of Dallas is a partner and head of public finance for the United States at Norton Rose Fulbright. He is a member of the State Bar of Texas, Texas Bar Foundation and the National Association of Bond Lawyers. He is a former gubernatorial appointee and chairman for the State Pension Review Board. Additionally, he is a volunteer at St. Thomas Aquinas Catholic School, past board member of El Paso United Way and Prevent Blindness Texas – El Paso Chapter and a former grant panel volunteer for Dallas United Way. Braden received a Bachelor of Arts from the University of Dallas and a Juris Doctor from The University of Texas School of Law.


Photo of Ms. ThomasonSharon Thomason of Wolfforth is president of Lubbock Land Company. She is a member of the Lubbock Lemonade Day Board of Directors and former member of the Board of Directors for the West Texas Home Builders Association (WTHBA) and former chair of the WTHBA Developer’s Council. Additionally, she is former treasurer of the Society of Human Resource Management – Lubbock Chapter, former treasurer of the Murfee Elementary Parent Teacher Association and former volunteer for Texas Children’s Hospital. Thomason received a Bachelor of Business Administration from West Texas A&M University.


Photo of Mr VasquezLeo Vasquez of Houston is executive vice president of Cadeco Industries and related companies. He is a gubernatorial appointee to the Texas Board of Criminal Justice and former gubernatorial appointee and chairman of the Texas Commission of Licensing and Regulation. He is a member of the U.S. Global Leadership Coalition’s Texas Advisory Board (USGLC) and the National Association of Corporate Directors (NACD). Additionally, he is a former board member of Houston’s Greater East End Management District, the Harris County Appraisal District, Harris County Health Facilities Development Corporation and served as the Harris County Tax Assessor-Collector and Voter Registrar. Vasquez received a Bachelor of Arts from Yale University and a Master of Business Administration from Columbia University Graduate School of Business.


For more information contact Michael Lyttle at michael.lyttle@tdhca.state.tx.us.